Queens Museum Tour of Never Built New York

Saturday, January 20, 2018

11:00 a.m.

$15 per person

Queens Museum

The morning after the Mid-Winter Reunion, join AFA for a special tour of the exhibition Never Built New York at the Queens Museum.

Hidden behind New York City’s iconic skyscrapers, sprawling subway system and world famous public parks is the ghost of the city that could have been – a parallel metropolis that can reveal the city’s goals, strengths and challenges.

Never Built New York invites visitors to discover the New York City that might have been through original prints, drawings, models, installations, and animations. While it may be impossible to re-imagine New York, Never Built explores a city where you could catch a football game in Manhattan, travel via a floating airport, and live in an apartment also acting as a bridge support.  Many of the would-be structures are plotted on the museum’s fantastic panorama of New York’s five boroughs created at the time of the 1964 World’s Fair.

After the tour, participants can explore the museum which also features Dr. Egon Neustadt’s collection of Tiffany lamps, and a selection of memorabilia from the 1939 and 1964 Worlds’ Fairs. The iconic Unisphere, also created for the 1964 World’s Fair, is presently the site for Ai Weiwei’s ‘Good fences make good neighbors’, one of his multi-site installations appearing throughout New York City.

Individual tickets are $15 per person. Register online or RSVP by  / (212) 682-6840 and send a check, payable to American Friends of Attingham, to 205 Lexington Avenue, Suite 1600, New York, NY 10016.

The Queens Museum is located at the New York City Building, Flushing Meadows Corona Park in Queens, NY. The museum is accessible from from the Mets-Willets Point stop on the #7 Subway train. Limited parking is also available. For more information on directions, please visit the museum’s website.

Image: Buckminster Fuller, Dome Over Manhattan, 1960. Black and white photograph on board with dome overlay, 12 3/4 x 18 3/8 in. Courtesy Department of Special Collections, Stanford University Libraries and The Estate of R. Buckminster Fuller.